Tanzania emblem
The United Republic of Tanzania

Tanzania Investment Centre

TIC logo

Strategic Location

Tanzania is accessible through the Indian Ocean, which gives it trade links to Asia and sits in between 6 landlocked countries; (Democratic Republic of Congo (“DRC”), Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Zambia and Malawi) that rely on Tanzania as the most efficient point for passage of goods.

The country has 3 deepwater ports (Dar es Salaam, Tanga and Mtwara) that service these neighbouring countries. Furthermore, Tanzania is a natural and effective transportation gateway into Eastern, Southern and Central Africa due to its membership in the SADC Free Trade Area and EAC Common Market as well as its rail and road networks.  Apart from being a point for passage of goods, Tanzania’s internal production capabilities, driven by rich natural resources, e.g. large size arable land and mineral deposits make it a natural hub for economic activity in the East African Region.


Feedback, Complaint or Opinion: