Tanzania emblem
The United Republic of Tanzania

Tanzania Investment Centre

TIC logo

Investment Supportive Infrastructure

Supportive Investment Infrastructure

The Government has deliberately invested into support infrastructure to investment in Tanzania which includes:-

Three Major Strategic Sea Ports

Dar es Salaam port is the Tanzania principal port with a rated capacity of 14.1 million (MT) dry cargo and 6.0 million (MT) bulk liquid cargo. The Port has a total quay length of about 2,600 metres with eleven deep-water berths. Dar es Salaam port handles about 95% of the Tanzania international trade. The port serves the landlocked countries of Malawi, Zambia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda and Zimbabwe. The port is strategically placed to serve as a convenient freight linkage not only to and from East and Central Africa countries but also to middle and Far East, Europe, Australia and America.

Tanzania Ports Authority is implementing  Dar es Salaam Marine Gateways Projects (DMGP) will improve the effectiveness and efficiency by converting the port as world class port with optimized efficiency to accommodate the calling and reception of larger vessels. But also Port modernization projects include but not limited to strengthening and deepening of berths 1-7 and RORO terminal, dredging of entrance channel, turning circle and harbour basin, strengthening and deepening 8-11, and construction of a new terminal jet.

Tanga and Other Northern Sea Ports

Tanga is the longest serving port in East Africa. It is a lighterage port with two shallow water berths. The visiting ocean going vessels are anchored at stream buoys being a maritime safety requirement. A 354-km highway links it to sister port Dar es Salaam in the South. Tanga port is situated on the northern coast of Tanzania. Close to the Kenyan border. Port limits extend from Lat 05 degree 00 5.8 long 039 degree 09.5’E to the meridian of Long 39 degree 15’E, thence 180 degree to the parallel of Lat 05’S, and thence 270 degree to the mainland. The current upgraded capacity is 1,201,000 tons per annum.

Mtwara and Other Southern Sea Ports

Mtwara port is one of the three major ports managed by Tanzania Ports Authority. Others are Dar es Salaam and Tanga. The deep water port at Mtwara was built between 1948 and 1954. Development of the deep water port was accompanied by railway construction from Mtwara and Nachingwea. With the failure of the groundnut scheme, the railway line fell into disuse and is now defunct. The port however, continues to function but is underutilized. The port of Mtwara can handle up to 750,000 MT with the same number of berths, The port is mainly designed to handle conventional cargo.

Electricity Infrastructure

Construction of the Julius Nyerere Hydropower Station; the largest in the East African Community (EAC) has reached 45%. The US $2.9bn project is expected to add 2,115MW into the national grid.

The US $2.9bn hydropower station project is being constructed across the Rufiji River in eastern Tanzania. The station is expected to produce 5,920GWh of power annually. The power generated will be evacuated via a new 400kV high voltage power line to a substation where the power will be integrated into the national electricity grid.

The project is expected to enhance access to affordable electricity which will propel economic growth as well as attract investment in the country. It will also transform the country through generation and supply of reliable electricity for both domestic and industrial use.



The Tanzania Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) is a railway system, under construction, linking the country to the neighboring countries of Rwanda and Uganda, and through these two, to Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The new Tanzania SGR is intended to replace the old, inefficient meter-gauge railway system and reduce road congestion. It is also expected to decrease freight costs by 40%. Each freight train is expected to transport up to 10,000 tonnes, equivalent to 500 lorry loads.

The project is being implemented in 5 phases: 202km Phase 1 (Dar es Salaam–Morogoro) Section, 348km Phase 2 (Morogoro–Makutopora) Section, 294km Phase 3 (Makutopora–Tabora) Section; 130km Phase 4 (Tabora-Isaka) Section, and 341km Phase 5 (Isaka–Mwanza) Section.



Feedback, Complaint or Opinion: